Basketball: Hall of Fame announces 2019 class

The 2019 class for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame was officially announced on Saturday in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

NBA stars Vlade Divac, Sidney Moncrief, and WNBA luminary Teresa Weatherspoon were on the final list.

Vlade Divac, the current manager of Sacramento Kings, was selected by the international committee, which honors an international candidate every year in recognition of their contribution to the globalization of basketball. Sidney Moncrief was a five-time All-Star and two-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year for Milwaukee Bucks. Teresa Weatherspoon, elected by the women’s committee, was a five-time WNBA All-Star for New York Liberty.

The 2019 inductees will be enshrined into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts on September 6.

Also selected this year were seven-time All-Star Jack Sikma, Bill Fitch, Bobby Jones, Al Artles, Paul Westfall, Charles Cooper and Karl Braun. Five-time All-Star Chris Webber and four-time Defensive Player Ben Wallace failed to headline the 2019 class.