Local council elections kick off in Cambodia

The third mandate municipal, provincial, town and district council elections kicked off in Cambodia on Sunday after an eight-day campaign, said Dim Sovannarom, a spokesman for the National Election Committee (NEC).

“A total of 203 polling stations across the country opened their doors at 7:00 a.m. local time and are due to close at 3:00 p.m.,” he told Xinhua.

The non-universal elections will be voted by 11,572 sitting commune chiefs and councilors-typically along party lines-for 4,114 municipal, provincial, town and district councilors.

The elections are divided into two, said a NEC’s statement, adding that one election is to elect 559 municipal and provincial councilors, while the other is to decide 3,555 town and district council seats.

Seven political parties have registered to contest in the sub-national elections, the NEC said.

Those are the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) of Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen, Funcinpec Party of Prince Norodom Ranariddh, Khmer National United Party, Cambodian Nationality’s Party, Cambodian Youth Party, Khmer Will Party, and Khmer Republican Party, it said.

Sovannarom said preliminary results are expected to be announced on Sunday afternoon at 4:00 p.m. local time.

In the last council elections in May 2014, the CPP swept 2,540, or 76.4 percent, of the then-3,324 positions across the kingdom.