Renewed ruling coalition agreement signed in Lithuania

Four Lithuanian parliamentary political parties signed a renewed coalition agreement on Friday, including a decision to redistribute the posts in the ministerial cabinet.

Representatives of the Farmers and Greens Union (LVZS), the Social Democratic Labor Party (LSDDP), the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania-Christian Families Alliance (LLRA-KSS) and the party Order and Justice signed an agreement establishing a renewed center-left coalition.

The coalition will have the majority of MPs — 76 out of 141.

The agreement includes the program of the future ruling majority and post distribution.

“The coalition will have the arithmetic majority and this will contribute to stability at least until the end of this term of parliament in 2020,” LVZS leader Ramunas Karbauskis was quoted as saying by local media.

The agreement on the ruling coalition stipulates that the LVZS, which has the most seats in parliament, will appoint 9 ministers, the LSDDP 2, the LLRA-KSS 2, while the party Order and Justice 1.

It is not yet clear which ministers will be replaced by new delegates, however, according to the local media reports, ministries of agriculture, national defence and interior will probably have new heads.

Meanwhile, the incumbent Lithuanian Prime Minister Saulius Skvernelis said that he will make his announcement next Tuesday, 9 July, whether he would continue heading the government.

The LVZS started the talks on a new coalition following May’s presidential election that led former economist Gitanas Nauseda to the highest post in the country. According to the country’s constitution, the government must return its mandate to a newly elected president.