FIBA women’s Olympic pre-qualifying tournament hosts confirmed

FIBA has confirmed all five hosts for the FIBA women’s Olympic pre-qualifying tournament taking place this November in Africa, the Americas and Asia-Oceania.

All tournaments will take place during the pre-qualifying window between November 10 and 18, 2019.

The Asia-Oceania competition will be held in New Zealand for Group A and Malaysia for Group B matches.

China are in Group A with South Korea, New Zealand and the Philippines. Olympics hosts Japan will take on Australia, Chinese Taipei and India in Group B. The top two teams in each group will advance to the FIBA women’s Olympic qualifying tournaments in February 2020.

Mozambique will host the African tournament, featuring six teams fighting for two qualifying spots. Argentina and Canada will be the hosts of the Americas competition, where eight teams will compete for four qualifying spots.

The top six teams from the 2019 FIBA Women’s EuroBasket tournament – namely Spain, France, Serbia, Britain, Sweden and Belgium – will proceed directly to the Olympic qualifying tournaments.

A total of 16 teams in the Olympic qualifying tournaments will be allocated into four groups, with the top three teams from each group qualifying for the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games.

Reigning Olympic champions the United States and hosts Japan have qualified directly for the Tokyo Games.