Cyprus, Lithuania added to UK’s COVID-19 quarantine list

Travellers returning from Cyprus and Lithuania will have to self-isolate for 14 days from Sunday, a senior British official announced Thursday.

The measure, announced by British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps, will come into force from 4:00 a.m. (0400 GMT) on Sunday. It will apply to people arriving in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The British government is believed to be using a rate of 100 as the threshold above which quarantine measures are considered, according to Sky News.

Cyprus currently has a rate of 112 cases per 100,000 people while Lithuania has 140 cases per 100,000 people, according to data collected by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

Another 23,056 people in Britain have tested positive for COVID-19, bringing the total number of coronavirus cases in the country to 965,340, according to official figures released Thursday.

The coronavirus-related deaths in Britain rose by 280 to 45,955, the data showed.

To bring life back to normal, countries, such as Britain, China, Russia and the United States, are racing against time to develop coronavirus vaccines.