Croatia enters the eurozone and the European Union’s (EU) border-free Schengen area

Croatia entered the eurozone and the European Union’s (EU) border-free Schengen area on New Year’s Day.

This was the first time a European country joined both the eurozone and the Schengen area on the same day, an important milestone for Croatia, an EU member since 2013.

On Jan. 1, Croatia became the 20th member of the eurozone and the euro becomes its official currency. On the same date, it also became the 27th member of the Schengen area, which was created in 1985 to allow free movement for all 420 million nationals of the signatory countries.

To help people adjust to the use of the euro, as of Jan. 1, the dual circulation of Croatia’s currency kuna and euro will last two weeks. After 12:00 midnight on Jan. 14, only euros will be used. However, banks and post offices will continue to convert kuna into euro throughout 2023.

Croatia hails upcoming integration into eurozone

July 13, 2022

Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic on Tuesday welcomed the decision by the European Union’s Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN) to integrate Croatia into the eurozone on Jan. 1, 2023. The introduction of the euro [Read More]

Croatian president says NATO should not expand to include Ukraine

February 18, 2022

Croatian President Zoran Milanovic said on Friday that NATO should not expand to include Ukraine because that threatens Croatia’s interests and that the West will face the consequences if it groundlessly stirs up panic about [Read More]


About Famagusta Gazette 9493 Articles
In addition to our Mediterranean perspective, Famagusta Gazette publish extensive coverage of world news, travel and tourism features, and financial information. Follow us on Twitter @FamagustaG